Samsung Pay launches in Russia with support for 5 banks

Samsung has today launched its mobile payment platform in Russia. At present, Samsung Pay only works with five banks — Alfa-Bank Banking Group, VTB24, MTS Bank, Raiffeisen Bank, and Russian Standard Bank — in the region, but compatibility is expected to make its way to other providers in the near future.

Russia is the ninth country that Samsung Pay has been released in since its debut in South Korea back in August 2015. It’s currently also available in Australia, Brazil, China, Russia, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Spain and the US. It is, however, expected to make its way to Canada, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand and the UK later this year.

Join the Discussion