Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How long should it take to wipe a NAND during flash?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    3

    How long should it take to wipe a NAND during flash?

    Just started using the NAND erase and Re-partition options with a .pit file.

    The NAND erasing itself seems to happen instantaneously which makes me wonder if its happening at all.

    Should erasing the NAND happen instantly like a Quick Format in Windows or should there be some sort of progress indicator?
    I just get a quick message about a SECTOR??, searching for the pit file and then it starts writing.

    This is with a Note 9 SM-N960U1 btw.

  2. #2
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9,631
    Quote Originally Posted by xxorr View Post
    Just started using the NAND erase and Re-partition options with a .pit file.

    The NAND erasing itself seems to happen instantaneously which makes me wonder if its happening at all.

    Should erasing the NAND happen instantly like a Quick Format in Windows or should there be some sort of progress indicator?
    I just get a quick message about a SECTOR??, searching for the pit file and then it starts writing.

    This is with a Note 9 SM-N960U1 btw.
    Hi there

    Why are you performing this?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    3
    Is there a reason I could/would give which would change or alter your response? Do you know the answer to my question?

    Its always annoying to answer a question with another question BTW (Why I sound a 'bit' irrate) unless you need clarification which my question
    doesn't seem to warrant (I think).
    Last edited by xxorr; 24-03-2021 at 17:46. Reason: Heavy snarkiness amended with a light spinkling of the same.

  4. #4
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    9,631
    Quote Originally Posted by xxorr View Post
    Is there a reason I could/would give which would change or alter your response? Do you know the answer to my question?

    Its always annoying to answer a question with another question BTW (Why I sound a 'bit' irrate) unless you need clarification which my question
    doesn't seem to warrant (I think).
    I just want to know why you are doing this: was your phone ROOTed, Custom ROM, TWRP ?

    Normally you don't have tu do this when flashing firmware

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    2
    Flash memories sometimes take longer than usual to reprogram. It is better to format with assignment help UK and also see a YouTube tutorial that might help you in this regard. I hope you find the solution as soon as possible.

    Regards: Johnny Expert
    Co-Founder of Assignment Help UK Company

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •