Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: SM-G9880 China version change firmware

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Question SM-G9880 China version change firmware

    Hi, I live and work in China. I recently bought the S20 Ultra but I'm having some issues with the phone. I have Google installed and I'm using a VPN due to it being blocked but I'm having an issue where Google, Youtube and APKPure have issues connecting to the internet. I've never had this problem with my previous phones. Also due to it coming out with the China firmware is it possible to flash it with the US firmware or Global firmware (if there is global firmware)?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8,346
    Quote Originally Posted by JacquesVe [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Hi, I live and work in China. I recently bought the S20 Ultra but I'm having some issues with the phone. I have Google installed and I'm using a VPN due to it being blocked but I'm having an issue where Google, Youtube and APKPure have issues connecting to the internet. I've never had this problem with my previous phones. Also due to it coming out with the China firmware is it possible to flash it with the US firmware or Global firmware (if there is global firmware)?
    Hi there

    Unfortunately it's not possible to flash US or Global firmware on your device

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by JacquesVe [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Hi, I live and work in China. I recently bought the S20 Ultra but I'm having some issues with the phone. I have Google installed and I'm using a VPN due to it being blocked but I'm having an issue where Google, Youtube and APKPure have issues connecting to the internet. I've never had this problem with my previous phones. Also due to it coming out with the China firmware is it possible to flash it with the US firmware or Global firmware (if there is global firmware)?
    Mate, as the G9880 model is the same for China, Hong Kong and Taiwan you can use samkey to change the csc from CHC (which is the chinese csc) to TGY (for Hong Kong) or BRI (for Taiwan) and this will change the software to whichever csc you change it to. With the TGY or BRI csc google play etc will be installed as standard for the csc.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    2
    Hi,
    I have simillar question. I'm from Poland and I bougt a S20 Ultra (SM-G9880) from China. I have some troubles with changing language to polish (it's changed only in few apps and menu screens, not in all device). I'm also curious if changing to Taiwan csc would help with that issue?

    And if yes, can anyone give me a direct instructions how to do that?

    I'll be very thankful.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8,346
    Quote Originally Posted by Peacemaker14 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Hi,
    I have simillar question. I'm from Poland and I bougt a S20 Ultra (SM-G9880) from China. I have some troubles with changing language to polish (it's changed only in few apps and menu screens, not in all device). I'm also curious if changing to Taiwan csc would help with that issue?

    And if yes, can anyone give me a direct instructions how to do that?

    I'll be very thankful.
    Hi there

    We don't know if the Polish language is in that firmware and if it's possible to flash that firmware...

    Why did you buy a Chinese version of the S20 Ultra 5G, and not the one from your country?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by west2cool [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Mate, as the G9880 model is the same for China, Hong Kong and Taiwan you can use samkey to change the csc from CHC (which is the chinese csc) to TGY (for Hong Kong) or BRI (for Taiwan) and this will change the software to whichever csc you change it to. With the TGY or BRI csc google play etc will be installed as standard for the csc.
    I recently bought a Samsung S20 from China SM-G9810 and i was wondering if i could change the firmware with the one from Hong Kong because on this one there are some issues with some apps, Google assistant, Dual Messenger and the search engine is Baidu i think for Samsung. And if i can do that, would affect my warranty or the phone will still receive updates? It would be nice if you could help me. I live in Germany by the way

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8,346
    Quote Originally Posted by Tigerkole [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    I recently bought a Samsung S20 from China SM-G9810 and i was wondering if i could change the firmware with the one from Hong Kong because on this one there are some issues with some apps, Google assistant, Dual Messenger and the search engine is Baidu i think for Samsung. And if i can do that, would affect my warranty or the phone will still receive updates? It would be nice if you could help me. I live in Germany by the way
    Hi there

    Could go go to Software Info, screenshot it from top to bottom and post it here?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    3
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    2
    I boght it from China because in Poland we only have the Exynos versions instead of Snapdragon. I heard a lot of bad things about Exynos and just wanted to check if Snapdragon is better. I haven't consider any cons of this decision like problems with language or screen and camera issues.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    8,346
    Quote Originally Posted by Tigerkole [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thanks for your screenshots

    Unfortunately, I can't advise you in this one...

    Maybe it's possible to change the CSC to Hong Kong/Taiwan firmware, but I'm not sure -> I don't want to brick your device...

    Maybe other readers can help you...

    If you decide to flash, you will have to use AP BL CP & CSC (NOT HOME_CSC); your device will reset afterwards...

    But: I'm not sure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •