Thread: Unlocked s10 - which firmware to choose

Unlocked s10 - which firmware to choose

Please help.

My new Galaxy S10 arrived today and Samsung Pay won't work because I'm in the UK, and the phone is from Hungary. It's unlocked and I'm planning on putting my UK Virgin Media SIM in it, but when I look for related firmware, the only UK options are "EE", "O2", etc.

Am I supposed to install the "BTU" version (as the phone is unlocked), or does it not matter which of the carrier versions I choose?

Forgive my ignorance, but I've never done this before, and don't want to brick my new phone.

Many thanks in advance.

Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefed [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Please help.

My new Galaxy S10 arrived today and Samsung Pay won't work because I'm in the UK, and the phone is from Hungary. It's unlocked and I'm planning on putting my UK Virgin Media SIM in it, but when I look for related firmware, the only UK options are "EE", "O2", etc.

Am I supposed to install the "BTU" version (as the phone is unlocked), or does it not matter which of the carrier versions I choose?

Forgive my ignorance, but I've never done this before, and don't want to brick my new phone.

Many thanks in advance.
    Hi there

Could you go to Software Info on your device, screenshot it from top to bottom and post it here?
    Your SIM must be in your device...

[ Login above or register to see download links. ]

Here you go.

Administrator
    Quote Originally Posted by Stefed [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

Here you go.
    Thanks for the screenshot

Your SIM is correctly recognized: XEU

Didn't you got a pop-up "SIM-card changed" (probably in Hungarian language)?

In order to get the active CSC to XEU too, you need to RESET your device while your SIM-card is IN your phone...