Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Updating SM-G970U from ATT firmware to TMO firmware (unlocking)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5

    Updating SM-G970U from ATT firmware to TMO firmware (unlocking)

    I have an ATT S10e that is unlocked by ATT. I'm currently using with Tmobile and considering upgrading the firmware to Tmobile firmware. I'm curious if I install the TMO firmware, will the phone become locked to TMO and will it need to be unlocked again. The ATT and TMO locking process is different, so my concern is TMO may not be able to unlock even though on TMO firmware because it is not in their database since the phone was an ATT phone. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7,160
    Quote Originally Posted by cabb2000 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    I have an ATT S10e that is unlocked by ATT. I'm currently using with Tmobile and considering upgrading the firmware to Tmobile firmware. I'm curious if I install the TMO firmware, will the phone become locked to TMO and will it need to be unlocked again. The ATT and TMO locking process is different, so my concern is TMO may not be able to unlock even though on TMO firmware because it is not in their database since the phone was an ATT phone. Thanks!
    Hi there

    Could you go to Software Info on your device, screenshot it from top to bottom, and post it here?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    See below. Thanks.

    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7,160
    Quote Originally Posted by cabb2000 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    See below. Thanks.

    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thanks, but that's not the whole info

    I want to see the info "Software Serviceprovider"...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    Doh...here you go.

    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7,160
    Quote Originally Posted by cabb2000 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Doh...here you go.

    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Hi there

    What SIM was in your device when you made this screenshot?

    There's no specific T-Mobile firmware; ATT & TMB are both part of Multi-CSC OYN

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    It's a Tmobile sim. The phone was purchased from ATT, used on their network and then unlocked by them prior to moving to Tmobile. Firmware should be standard ATT, but maybe old since Tmobile isn't updating other providers firmware. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7,160
    Quote Originally Posted by cabb2000 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    It's a Tmobile sim. The phone was purchased from ATT, used on their network and then unlocked by them prior to moving to Tmobile. Firmware should be standard ATT, but maybe old since Tmobile isn't updating other providers firmware. Thanks!
    The firmware is indeed "old"...

    This is the latest firmware for your device: [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    Flash AP BL CP & HOME_CSC_OYN with Odin 3.14.1 (other files in archive NOT to be used!): your data will stay intact...

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    5
    Thanks! Going back to your previous comment. The boot screen shows the ATT logo, so there must be some difference between the two software versions. Is more correct to say the Android versions are different as opposed to the firmware versions?

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    7,160
    Quote Originally Posted by cabb2000 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thanks! Going back to your previous comment. The boot screen shows the ATT logo, so there must be some difference between the two software versions. Is more correct to say the Android versions are different as opposed to the firmware versions?
    That's because you've an AT&T branded device...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •