Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Thread: Verizon version, no update

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5

    Question Verizon version, no update

    Hi,
    I'm in Europe and bought a Samsung S7 from ebay.
    It's the Verizon branded edition, SM-G930V. It came with Android 6.0, however a while back Verizon has released 7.0, yet there was no update notification so I started looking into it.
    Samsung Smart Switch claimed the phone is on the latest version. I noticed though that the phone seems to be from Hong Kong, based on the Smart Switch info (PH1 TGY). However,the device name (hero2qltechn) seems to suggest it's the Chinese edition of the S7 though it does have the Verizon logo on the back so I'm puzzled. IMEI seems to belong to a genuine S7, however I've attached more details below.

    Model: SM-G930V
    Device type: hero2qltechn
    Product name: hero2qltezh
    Product Code: Not Active
    PDA: G930VVRS4APH1
    CSC: G930VVRS4APH1
    Baseband: G930VVRS4APH1
    Buildnumber: MMB29M.G930VVRS4APH1
    Build description: hero2qltezh-user 6.0.1 MMB29M G930VVRS4APH1 release-keys

    So it seems it's a Chinese model of Samsung S7 from Verizon with Hong Kong firmware, which seems crazy.
    Does anyone have any idea as to why there is no update notification? Can I flash with Odin the 7.0 firmware safely on this phone?
    Let me know if you need any more details.
    Last edited by spyszkola; 10-06-2017 at 20:46. Reason: more details

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,793
    These Chinese phones are very cleverly modified, and yours has the USA Verizon G930V overlay.
    The hero2qltechn is in fact a G9350 (S7 Edge - does it have the edge screen?)
    In China, they do not allow Google services and this is why they are modified for the non China market.

    I will admit.
    I do not know what to suggest here.
    Your Verizon firmware is 5 updates out of date - now on android 7.
    Firmware looks ok for a Verizon update except for the Device type: hero2qltechn

    So, do you update with G930V firmware - but possibly risk it not installing and maybe bricking your phone.
    Or do you install the original G9350 Edge firmware and lose Google services.

    Not a decision I would like to make.





  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    It's definitely a normal Samsung S7, it doesn't have an "edge" screen.
    I've done detailed checks using YouTube to check whether it's genuine or some knock-off when I received it, and I'm certain it's the real deal.
    I'm very surprised they would go as far as adding a "Verizon" logo on the back etc.
    Based on additional details:
    Board: msm8996
    Chip name: MSM8996
    Platform: msm8996
    Modem: MSM8996
    CPU ABI: arm64-v8a
    GPU: Qualcomm Adreno (TM) 530
    I think the phone is [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    I guess they must have made a mistake when changing the "Device type" and "Product name" fields.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Does the above help in determining what firmware is safe to flash?
    Thank you in advance.

    btw the "Device type" and "Product name" are different, hero2qltechn and hero2qltezh
    Last edited by spyszkola; 10-06-2017 at 21:55.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,793
    Does the above help in determining what firmware is safe to flash?

    btw the "Device type" and "Product name" are different, hero2qltechn and hero2qltezh
    Yes i noticed the difference, but think they end with chn and zh(u) = China

    As SmartSwitch is recognising the phone follow post #2 here to install the latest firmware.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    The mystery is no clearer from the SmartSwitch screen shot as it shows
    'Your software is up to date: PH1 (TGY)'

    The PH1 is Ok and is 6.0.1 firmware.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    The TGY is an issue as this is not a Verizon csc code and is for Hong Kong.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Yes i noticed the difference, but think they end with chn and zh(u) = China

    As SmartSwitch is recognising the phone follow post #2 here to install the latest firmware.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    The mystery is no clearer from the SmartSwitch screen shot as it shows
    'Your software is up to date: PH1 (TGY)'

    The PH1 is Ok and is 6.0.1 firmware.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    The TGY is an issue as this is not a Verizon csc code and is for Hong Kong.
    Thanks for all the replies greenman.
    When I input the details into the Samsung Smart Switch emergency screen it recommends the QC9 software which seems to be the latest version.
    I won't go through with the update, will think this through first.
    Will definitely post back here and share my findings if I decide to do it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,793
    SmartSwitch can usually be relied upon.
    If offering an update then it should be OK.

    Sorry not to be more positive in my comments, but you have an expensive phone and I take my responsibilities seriously.
    Would appreciate any feedback if you do decide to install the firmware.
    Good luck
    .

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Finally decided to update, fired up Smart Switch, followed post #2 you mentioned above and installed Nougat on the phone without any problems.
    I looked over the box again and it is the SM-G9300 based on the quick start booklet, i.e. the chinese Samsung Galaxy S7 Duos, not sure how I could have missed that. The whole box apart from that booklet is like from a genuine S7. They even managed to make it show SM-G930V in Download mode!
    Couldn't get mobile data to work initially despite adding my carrier's APN, but retried and it magically worked. \_(ツ)_/
    Disabled Verizon bloat and happily using 7.0.
    Thanks again for all the help greenman, much appreciated.
    Last edited by spyszkola; 19-06-2017 at 01:32.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1
    Hi!
    I had situation like you I bought an SM-G930V from aliexpress and it failed to update via OTA, so I updated it to stock rom via Odin. But I want to know what is it real hardware to may be install 930F rom
    How do you see hardware details like board gpu etc?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,793
    Quote Originally Posted by vadiaz [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Hi!
    I had situation like you I bought an SM-G930V from aliexpress and it failed to update via OTA, so I updated it to stock rom via Odin. But I want to know what is it real hardware to may be install 930F rom
    How do you see hardware details like board gpu etc?
    Can you install this app and post:
    Product Code
    Original CSC code
    Active CSC code
    PDA version
    CSC version
    Baseband version
    Android version
    Mobile operator
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]





  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    4
    Hi there @Greenman,

    I have the similar situation here - Samsung S7 SM-G930V. I have no update option visible on settings->about phone. Also I see United Arab Emirates options (TRA id and TRA) in options.
    When I connect to Smart Switch it shows no updates.

    Other info's visible with PhoneINFO application are:

    Product code: Not Active
    Original CSC code: empty
    Active CSC code: VZW
    PDA version: G930VVRU4API3
    CSC version: G930VVRU4API3
    Baseband version: G930VVRU4API3
    Android version: 6.0.1
    Mobile operator: ERONET / 21803 (i am in Bosnia and Herzegowina)

    Is it safe to upgrade firmware using Odin and latest version shown here [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •