Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: What can i use to backup, root and debrand S5

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    42

    What can i use to backup, root and debrand S5

    Hello
    For a week ago i get my S5 stolen, so i have got me a used new one now
    And i have 3 questions.
    1: I have use Samsung Kies 3 and samsung smart switch to backup my old phone before it was stolen, and can i use that program after i debranded my phone?
    2: How to root my phone? (i found this program One Click Root, can i use this rot root my phone)
    3: What is the best backup/restore program to use for my S5?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    1: I have use Samsung Kies 3 and samsung smart switch to backup my old phone before it was stolen, and can i use that program after i debranded my phone?
    SmartSwitch and Kies are phone specific and use the phone secure data (IMEI/Serial number) to identify the phone.
    Your old backups will not work on your new phone for this reason.
    2: How to root my phone? (i found this program One Click Root, can i use this rot root my phone)
    Think carefully before using any root method that will trip your phone Knox.
    Samsung pay and other such apps will n ot work on a rooted phone.

    To provide a better answer can you tell us which S5 model you have?
    3: What is the best backup/restore program to use for my S5?
    Backup and restore with SmartSwitch on a stock firmware phone.
    Root can prevent SmartSwitch from working.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    42
    I have SM-G900F

    Se my pictures for info about my phone
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Screenshot_2016-05-17-13-49-42.png   Screenshot_2016-05-17-13-49-47.png  

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Having lollipop does limit your options in using a 'safe' root (Knox 0x0) method.
    You could try downgrading to last KitKat version and then use Towelroot.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    Your suggestion of One Click Root is a good one:
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    42
    Ok, so if i only debrand it i can use Samsung Kies 3 and samsung smart switch with my backups?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by sansuiter [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Ok, so if i only debrand it i can use Samsung Kies 3 and samsung smart switch with my backups?
    To de-brand, simply install an Open firmware
    You will have to download the firmware from Sammobile and then install it with odin.
    You will probably need the firmware PIT file to install.

    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    After installing, put phone into Recovery mode and wipe cache then wipe data.
    This will 'set' the CSC code and your phone can now receive OTA updates and use Kies/SmartSwitch.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    42
    Thank`s greenman for all help here
    I have this PIT file KLTE_EUR_OPEN_HIDDEN30M.pit and is it that i can use with NEE_G900FXXU1POK5_G900FNEE1POK1??

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by sansuiter [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thank`s greenman for all help here
    I have this PIT file KLTE_EUR_OPEN_HIDDEN30M.pit and is it that i can use with NEE_G900FXXU1POK5_G900FNEE1POK1??
    Yes.
    But be aware that if you are coming from a different firmware version, the default CSC code will be applied.
    For the NEE firmware this (if I remember correctly) is PHN.

    Explained here:
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    42
    Ok, so i must find out my CSC code i have on my phone to get right software then??
    Have i wrong now?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by sansuiter [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Ok, so i must find out my CSC code i have on my phone to get right software then??
    Have i wrong now?
    Get some more information on your phone by installing the app in this link.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •