Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: IR blaster doesn't work after flash

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12

    IR blaster doesn't work after flash

    Hey,
    I upgraded my phone by flash to 4.3 couple of monthes ago, month after that my IR blaster has been stop working until now.
    I tried to flash it to 4.4.2 and the it did work but only for a few days.
    I tried to flash it again, to reset the phone and factory reset it but it didn't work.
    The IR blaster works for few seconds after I reboot my phone but after couple of minutes it stops working.
    I wanted to know if someone had this problem or if someone knows how to fix it.
    In my opinion the IR blaster wasn't damaged (but this option is still possible because I did dropped my phone few times very hard but I have otterbox case so I don't think something happed to it).
    I hope someone will have a solution for me becasue I am very desperate.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,714
    Is it the IR or the application that uses the IR?
    Which app are you using, and does it need updating to your new firmware?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    I am using the WatchOn app.
    But I also tried to use other apps and it didn't work.
    I think the problem is in my phone software and not in the specific app or the IR blaster.
    And I didn't realize the last question of yours.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,714
    Quote Originally Posted by TalS View Post
    I am using the WatchOn app.
    But I also tried to use other apps and it didn't work.
    I think the problem is in my phone software and not in the specific app or the IR blaster.
    And I didn't realize the last question of yours.
    If the IR worked briefly with 4.4.2 it does suggest either:
    1. You have a conflict with another app.
    2. You have a hardware failure.
    For 2, it is a repair.
    For 1, try starting your phone in SAFE MODE.. Safe Mode will stop user apps from starting and so identify if that is the problem.

    SAFE MODE
    http://www.mobiwhy.com/how-do-i-star...safe-mode.html

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    I started my phone in SAFE MODE and the IR blaster works fine!
    How can I know what app makes this conflict?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,714
    Quote Originally Posted by TalS View Post
    I started my phone in SAFE MODE and the IR blaster works fine!
    How can I know what app makes this conflict?
    Ah! That is a bit of detective work by you.
    Start with the latest installed, check the permissions.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    Acctually I tried to delete apps once and I found out that it was the whatsapp that makes this problem.
    I deleted it but I can't not using the whatsapp.
    You also said something about premissions, how can I see what premissions my apps use? And which premission should I see exactly?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,714
    Quote Originally Posted by TalS View Post
    Acctually I tried to delete apps once and I found out that it was the whatsapp that makes this problem.
    I deleted it but I can't not using the whatsapp.
    You also said something about premissions, how can I see what premissions my apps use? And which premission should I see exactly?
    Go to Settings > Applications manager
    Here you will find a list of installed apps.
    Go to WhatsApp and find which permissions it requires, then check other apps for the same.

    But if you have found that WhatApp is the problem and you don't want to uninstall, then make sure that WhatsApp is up to date.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    12
    Whatsapp was updated back then.
    So I am not sure that Whatsapp is the main problem.
    Is there is a specific premission that I need to see or it can be anything?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,714
    Quote Originally Posted by TalS View Post
    Whatsapp was updated back then.
    So I am not sure that Whatsapp is the main problem.
    Is there is a specific premission that I need to see or it can be anything?
    Since you found that whatsApp conflicted with IR then it could be any permission.

    Sorry, this is a job for you.
    Go to each app in turn and Force Stop.
    Check if IR works.
    Go onto next app - it's a slow process, depending on how many apps you have.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •