Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Is my phone network locked?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    13

    Is my phone network locked?

    HI,
    I am trying to find out if my S4 is tied to Tesco Mobile in the UK.

    AP:I9505XXUEMKF

    CP:I9505XXUEMKF

    CSC: I9505BTUEMK5

    any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    The CSC has BTU in it.
    BTU is the Samsung code for an 'open' non network UK firmware.

    The only real way to check if your phone is locked is to insert your sim card.
    If you are not asked for a code, your phone is either unlocked or locked to your sim's network.

    If bought through Tesco mobile, unfortunately Tesco add another network lock. But again, you can check by putting in another (not Tesco) sim card.

    If you are asked for a network unlock code, it will be for Tesco.
    Last edited by greenman; 06-03-2014 at 10:53.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    13
    Thanks for that.

    But as for the firmware if BTU is none network firmware, does that mean that any updates are from Samsung and not network dependent?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by boofgb [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thanks for that.

    But as for the firmware if BTU is none network firmware, does that mean that any updates are from Samsung and not network dependent?
    That is correct.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Your firmware is here:
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    13
    Excellent thanks for the quick response

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    I have been updating with ODIN with the kitkat updates even though my phone is locked to an Irish network(meteor), everything works fine...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by crincron [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    I have been updating with ODIN with the kitkat updates even though my phone is locked to an Irish network(meteor), everything works fine...
    Then it is not locked to the network or you are updating with the Meteor firmware.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Then it is not locked to the network or you are updating with the Meteor firmware.
    Latest Meteor firmware for i9505:
    Model: GT-I9505
    Model name: GALAXY S4
    Country: Ireland (Meteor)
    Version: Android 4.3
    Changelist: 2082040
    Build date: Wed, 27 Nov 2013 13:11:03 +0000
    Product Code: MET
    PDA: I9505XXUEMKF
    CSC: I9505OXXEMK3
    MODEM: I9505XXUEMKF

    The CSC is OXX for Open Europe.
    This is not a network locked firmware.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Then it is not locked to the network or you are updating with the Meteor firmware.
    Oh but i dont think a different sim would work in my phone besides meteor..that what i meant to say. I bought the phone from meteor so i presume only a meteor sim would work in it. No i'm not updating with meteor firmware, i have been using the xxufnb9 from nordic countries and just updated via odin to malaysian xxufnbe. Once meteor/ireland receive kitkat then i plan to use that firmware.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •