Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: [GT-I9505] Upgrade firmware with root?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    40

    Question [GT-I9505] Upgrade firmware with root?

    Hi,

    I have a Galaxy S4 GT-I9505 (Europe LTE) with Qualcomm Snapdragon 600.

    Yesterday I rooted my phone with Kingo Android ROOT (One-click root, NO Odin). I had installed the default rom from Samsung which you get when you buy an S4.
    Now I have Android 4.3, but 4.4.2 is going to be released soon in my country (as other European country's already can download it).

    How can I update my Android version without 'destroying' my phone? (I want to keep the root).

    Regards,
    Michael

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Root does not stop you getting Kies updates.
    But installing an update will clear root, so you will have to root again.

    While rooted make a 'nandroid' backup.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    40
    Thanks for your answer.

    If I make that 'nandroid' backup you say, what does it do?

    Btw: I don't have any custom rom, or custom recovery installed.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelw1998 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Thanks for your answer.

    If I make that 'nandroid' backup you say, what does it do?

    Btw: I don't have any custom rom, or custom recovery installed.
    A nandroid is a complete backup of your phone (including firmware) as it is at the moment.

    Use your custom recovery - if you haven't got one, install Rom Manager from the Play Store.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    40
    Is it required to have a custom recovery? I have Titanium Backup Pro installed at my phone, is that app good enough to make backups if I want to update my firmware?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelw1998 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Is it required to have a custom recovery? I have Titanium Backup Pro installed at my phone, is that app good enough to make backups if I want to update my firmware?
    Titanium backup is very good, but doesn't backup your firmware.
    If you don't want to make a complete nandroid backup, then back up your EFS file and keep on an external sd card or your computer.
    The EFS folder is where important data about your phone is stored.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    40
    Just downloaded Rom Manager. Installed CWM recovery, and then bought + installed the CWM recovery touch version.

    Then I pressed the backup button, which started to boot me into recovery.
    I saw a Android men with text: No mission (it was in dutch so I translated it).

    It just showed me the Android recovery, and when I selected: Reboot phone it said: Error, but booted into android.

    Why doesn't my phone boot the CWM bu t to default recovery?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelw1998 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Just downloaded Rom Manager. Installed CWM recovery, and then bought + installed the CWM recovery touch version.

    Then I pressed the backup button, which started to boot me into recovery.
    I saw a Android men with text: No mission (it was in dutch so I translated it).

    It just showed me the Android recovery, and when I selected: Reboot phone it said: Error, but booted into android.

    Why doesn't my phone boot the CWM bu t to default recovery?
    Don't know, but if in standard recovery, Clear Cache then Clear Data /Factory Reset.

    You should now be ready to install your firmware again.

  9. #9
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelw1998 [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Just downloaded Rom Manager. Installed CWM recovery, and then bought + installed the CWM recovery touch version.

    Then I pressed the backup button, which started to boot me into recovery.
    I saw a Android men with text: No mission (it was in dutch so I translated it).

    It just showed me the Android recovery, and when I selected: Reboot phone it said: Error, but booted into android.

    Why doesn't my phone boot the CWM bu t to default recovery?
    You spoilt all...for what so many installing ?, you have to now flashing new firmware, to clean up phone wipe date and wipe cacha and as you want this root the colleague Chainfire Auto-root proposes, have a look here :
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    Exactly so as he said greenman as you will do this you will have all OK.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    40
    Hi,

    I saw this topic is a little bit messed up.
    I tried to search for updates via OTA (4.4.2 is not released yet here, I saw at firmware at this website).

    It said my device has been modified. If I unroot my phone via Kingo (it has a unroot function), will it work then?

    I saw I can fix it via TriangleAway, but it costs money (app isn't free), so that's not the option for me at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •