Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [GT-I9300] Installing a custom rom

Question [GT-I9300] Installing a custom rom

Hi,

I was wondering on how to install a custom rom (specifically Cyanogenmod) on my GT-I9300. I said that if I don't like the stock 4.3 after updating, I will install a custom rom. Now, if that were to happen, what should I do beforehand? Should I back up my EFS folder (or something like that). I'm really a newbie at this one cause I've always used stock android. Can anyone give me tips? Thanks

First of all, backup your phone with the Helium app:
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

Now use the Cyanogenmod all-in-one installer to take you through the installation.

Direct link, courtesy of Android Magazine if you put:
    get.cm/app

into your browser.

Source :Android Magazine Issue 34 Imagine Publishing
    Last edited by greenman; 18-02-2014 at 10:27.

So I don't have to mess with the EFS? Cause I'm worried about losing mobile connection if I flash a custom rom after updating to 4.3. And what recovery does it install, and can I flash other custom roms with it? If I want to go back to stock, how? Sorry for my stupidity..

Quote Originally Posted by XtremeAddict [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    So I don't have to mess with the EFS? Cause I'm worried about losing mobile connection if I flash a custom rom after updating to 4.3. And what recovery does it install, and can I flash other custom roms with it? If I want to go back to stock, how? Sorry for my stupidity..
    You will find the CM installer very user friendly and will take you through the process.

If you decide it is not for you then reinstall your original firmware - has to be 4.3 or above due to a change in the EFS folder (EFS2)

For ultimate safety.
    Root your phone.
    Install CWM Recovery (as in the CM installation) and carry out a backup from CWM recovery.
    This is called a Nandroid and will make an exact copy of your phone as it is now.