Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: S3 modem probably

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Your phone should be reflashed tp the SFR firmware.
    So install the latest version from here.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    First of all back up your data with the Helium app
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    After installing and at restart, turn phone off and go into Recovery Mode.

    Clear Cache and then Clear Data/Factory reset

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    21
    The phone is Tmobile UK from new, one owner. IMEI corresponds with the original receipt. Can the SFR have been changed by an image? I googled the numbers from the info page and found the 4.3 image it had on when I got it. That seems to be a non localised image, just general international as far as I can tell.

    The files I reckon it had on is I9300XXUGML2_I9300AUTGML1 I think but not knowing naff all about these filenames makes it kind of hard to be sure.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Your phone should be reflashed tp the SFR firmware.
    So install the latest version from here.
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    First of all back up your data with the Helium app
    [ Login above or register to see download links. ]

    After installing and at restart, turn phone off and go into Recovery Mode.

    Clear Cache and then Clear Data/Factory reset
    Please just confirm that I should do this. As above, the mobile is definitely not anything but Tmobile UK and never has been. I don't have a problem doing as said here but would just like it confirming that it is the right thing to do with the mobile certainly being a UK phone.
    Last edited by Mjolinor; 08-02-2014 at 18:47.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    909
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    No, but Orange and TMobile are now part of the same organisation.
    In the UK they have been rebranded EE.
    Absolutely agree

    But they are not SFR as his post #4 states from Kies

    If under the same banner in France it would have been FTM but T-mob is not even listed in France

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    909
    Just to clarify it again follow these instuctions and this time take a screen shot and post back please;

    1, remove battery from the phone
    2, underneath the battery on the phone is the imei# and serial#
    3, you need the serial# and leave the battery out for this task
    4, now start Kies that is on you P.C and make sure you have internet connection
    5, from the menu bar go to Tools and select firmware upgrade and initialization
    6, enter the model GT-I9300 (make sure its CAPITALS GT-I)
    7, enter serial# (CAPITALS again)
    8, press OK to initalize (dont worry you have no battery in )
    9, this will now give you the string = Initialised version PDA:*** / PHONE:*** / CSC:*** (***) this is what we want to see so post it back

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    21
    When I remove the battery the phone does not stay on. With it off and doing as it says ^ up there, in Kies I get the information above.


    With the battery in I get
    The connected device is not supported by Kies 3
    Check which devices are supported and try again
    There is a link I can click that takes me to some Samsung page with no information about connected devices at all, typical methinks.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjolinor [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    When I remove the battery the phone does not stay on.
    Yes, we do know this

    So have you done what we have asked?

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    21
    Yes, the information it gives with the phone off, no battery, connected to USB is the same

    PDA:MK6
    PHONE:MK1
    CSC:MK4 (SFR)

    Is this information coming form the phone or from some online database?

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    41,789
    Quote Originally Posted by Mjolinor [ Login above or register to see download links. ]
    Yes, the information it gives with the phone off, no battery, connected to USB is the same

    PDA:MK6
    PHONE:MK1
    CSC:MK4 (SFR)

    Is this information coming form the phone or from some online database?
    This is your original firmware.
    The information came from your serial number being sent to Samsung (via Kies)
    Was the phone a replacement? as the firmware is dated November 2013.

    Model: GT-I9300
    Country: France (SFR)
    Version: Android 4.3
    Changelist: 2168382
    Build date: Thu, 28 Nov 2013 12:07:41 +0000
    Product Code: SFR
    PDA: I9300XXUGMK6
    CSC: I9300VFGGMK4
    MODEM: I9300BUUGMK1

    You can install this firmware safely and it will reinstall your Product Code.
    No problem with having a different Product Code to your country (UK) as there will be English available and Kies will update.

    You will have Vodafone widgets and branding, but get it unlocked, and you can install any I9300 firmwaere (including BTU)
    Last edited by greenman; 08-02-2014 at 19:16.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    21
    OK, It is downloading right now, 30 minutes to go. I will install it then I will need to unlock it so she can use her original SIM. The phone was a replacement from her insurance company, she has had two replacement since her original purchase, both just completely died on her.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •