PDA

View Full Version : [Firmware] Samsung tab 311 bought in china, change the firmware?



anthony239
18-03-2014, 06:56
Hi everyone,

I bought a samsung tab 311 in China and the android os is designed for chinese customers, all google apps are prohibited so I dont have any google play nor anything else... Quiet frustrating since they did not warn me.

I wanted to know if simply put one of the firmware available on the website, do I have any risk of bricking the device and do I have a way to prevent it? Or to loose the warranty (since the firmwares are said to be official ones)? How can do any backup?

Also, isn't there a kind of a international or european rom?

Thank you for your help

MasoudSAMSUNG
18-03-2014, 07:42
Hi
enter *#1234# and write down your device sw information so we can help you
Or use below apps for getting informations:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.vndnguyen.phoneinfo&hl=uk

anthony239
18-03-2014, 09:30
Ok, so here are the details:
AP : T311ZCUANA1
CP : T311ZCUANA1
CSC : T311CHNANA1

Thanks

MasoudSAMSUNG
18-03-2014, 18:51
There are many firmwares for your device in FW Page,
but as we experienced before, Samsung locked down some of CHINA bootloaders that prevent users of changing region and making that may cause damage to your device (but just in some)
so , if you wanna take risk , just download firmware and use ODIN to flash your device
if stopped or had problem , return back to a china rom and will be OK (also don't forget to post result)

anthony239
19-03-2014, 09:24
You mean if I DON'T wanna take risk, right?

What do you mean by being unable of changing region? What are the consequences of it? Even if I put another rom which would would allow me to download the google apps, I could still not be able to do so because I could still not change my region?

By using Odin, I can still restore the default rom if it do not work?

greenman
19-03-2014, 09:40
These Chinese derived devices can be tricky to work on, and your best next stop is to this XDA developers site.

Root your phone and remove bloatware, then keep an eye open for a custom rom to install.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2401901&page=2

anthony239
22-03-2014, 10:25
Ok, I have rooted the tablet following this tuto:
http://nasirtech.blogspot.com/2014/03/how-to-root-galaxy-tab-3-80-sm-t311.html

I have tried to install the rom available on the website but every time I load them on Odin, i get this message:"md5 error! Binary is invalid". In the message displaying in Odin, its also written:"MD5 hash value is invalid".

And how to remove bloatware???

anthony239
22-03-2014, 14:14
So now, i have installed CWM and the tablet is rooted but still, I cannot find any valid rom on the website, any help plz?

I get this message when trying to load the rom on odin:"MD5 hash value is invalid"

greenman
22-03-2014, 14:19
So now, i have installed CWM and the tablet is rooted but still, I cannot find any valid rom on the website, any help plz?

I get this message when trying to load the rom on odin:"MD5 hash value is invalid"
Take a look at this link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2606313

anthony239
22-03-2014, 15:19
Ok, thanks for the link,

But still, I am a beginner and there are things I dont get in all those tutos, and I dont wanna mess up the tablet trying to figure out on my own...

I hvent even started yet and I already find myself blocked...
There are 2 versions in the download link, which one to get??? 6 or 6.1
Step 2: place the rom in ur sd card or wherever. I dont have any SD card yet, so whats wherever and how to get there???
Step 7: what is reboot to rom?? I know reboot in download mode and recovery mode, i never heard of this reboot now....

greenman
22-03-2014, 15:49
Ok, understood.
Be aware I have not tried this rom or have a Tab3, so I am offering general advice for installing custom firmware on android.

The first thing you need to do is install a Custom Recovery.
Go here:
http://true-android.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/install-cwm-6045-advance-edition-on_5292.html

1.Download The Rom
V6 https://docs.google.com/file/d/0ByEZDplbxwxJQTRJc25vMmlmXzA/edit
This is downloaded to your PC and then transferred to your phone.

2.Place the rom on your sdcard (do not unzip)
This does not have to be an external sd card, but better if you have one.
If not, put on your phone memory.

3.Reboot to recovery

4.Make A wipe data factory reset or if in philz make clean install
note if you did wipe data/factory reset please go to mounts and storage and wipe /system

5.Go to advanced and make a wipe dalvik cache

6.Now install the rom

7.Reboot to rom
Reboot System Now

8.let your tab settle for a couple of minutes

9.Simply reboot back to recovery and wipe dalvik cache

10.Your done

11.Enjoy the smoothest thing on earth FD

anthony239
22-03-2014, 16:05
Looks like it isn't my day, the download link is dead... :(

greenman
22-03-2014, 16:08
Looks like it isn't my day, the download link is dead... :(
Which one?
the Philz touch has downloaded for me:
http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_Advanced_Edition/lt013g/philz_touch_6.08.9-lt013g.tar.md5


If the ROM try the V6 link:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0ByEZDplbxwxJQTRJc25vMmlmXzA/edit

anthony239
23-03-2014, 07:18
OK, I followed all the steps carefully, and when I flash this rom the tablet start over and stay blocked at the "samsung tab3" screen, then nothing happens and I have to reboot in recovery mode to restore this shitty chinese rom that I have....

I also tried to install this rom here with CWM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2404877

Installation was successful but I get this messages when launching my device:
- setup wizard isn't responding. Do you want to close it?
I close it, then:
- Unfortunately, the process android.process.media has stopped.
I press ok, then:
Unfortunately, Samsung keyboard has stopped.
I press ok then:
- Process system isn't responding. Do you want to close it?
I press ok but it keeps coming back over and over...

Again I have to restore the chinese default rom...

What should I do?

greenman
23-03-2014, 08:20
You would be better going to the 'Fast dream' rom site and reading the thread.
If problems, then ask on there as you will be talking to people with the same device.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2606313

Dychowski
23-03-2014, 12:01
Good afternoon John,
Then what I wrote yesterday, we do not know these Chinese changes unfortunately and do not know as they behave now hard us to help here.
Our desires will not do here, then completely different models :-)

anthony239
23-03-2014, 12:03
Im not allowed to post in the threads of those roms on this forum because i am a new member...

This situation really pisses me off right now, what else should I do now? Any suggestions plz?

anthony239
23-03-2014, 12:06
Dychowski, Sorry, did not understand everything.

Dychowski
23-03-2014, 12:09
Im not allowed to post in the threads of those roms on this forum because i am a new member...

This situation really pisses me off right now, what else should I do now? Any suggestions plz?

Anthony, to he help can You , I would have to have this taba in hands on the 2-3 of days and test all options because this the completely different model than on Europe, understand I ask, we can not foretell because we are not sorcerers :-).
If we know the solution of the problem, we always help because we are from this but we do not know all unfortunately.

Dychowski
23-03-2014, 12:11
Dychowski, Sorry, did not understand everything.

This is message to greenman :-)

anthony239
24-03-2014, 09:02
In the end, I just used a previous version of Odin (3.4 instead of 3.9) to flash an original stock rom.

Now the problem is that I have a new CWM that works with the volume up, volume down button, and this menu:
- reboot system now
- apply update from ADB
- apply update from external storage
- zipe data/factory reset
- wipe cache partition
- apply update from cache

Since the rom is not really good, i wanted to flash another one , but the backup i did with the previous CWM i had (Philz Advanced CWM 6.08.90) is nowhere in the tablet anymore (i dont have any sd card) and i dont know how to make a back up with this CWM...

So now the question is how to make a backup with this version of CWM so I can try to flash other roms, or how to get the version that i had before without takin any risk of brickin the device (so i can make another backup and try to flash another)?

greenman
24-03-2014, 09:27
Your recovery mode is now back to stock.
You cannot install a custom rom from this.

anthony239
31-03-2014, 13:25
Ok, my problem is resolved now.
- I had to use the previous version of Odin (3.4) to flash a rom from this website
- Then, I rooted the phone, reinstalling CWM philz version
- I did a backup using CWM
- Finally I flashed the custom rom using CWM

Thank u all for helping